Lowepro Classified 160 AW

Top view of the Classified 160AW from the Lowepro site

Front picture of the Classified 160AW from the Lowepro site

First off, I love Lowepro, so I’m a little biased.  All my bags are currently Lowepro bags.  For me, the Classified 160AW is a near perfect bag.  I’ve taken it all over, from here in Ontario Canada, to Western Canada, to Panama, to a Caribbean cruise.  This bag is on my shoulder every day.

To start with, I can carry my Tamron 70-200 in the bag, along with my 17-50 and either a flash or another prime lens, such as my 50mm 1.8D or the 35mm 1.8G.  Along with all that, my iPad fits perfectly in the front flap.  When I’m at a portrait shoot, I use my iPad to show the client the pictures when I’m done, so having my iPad is a huge bonus.  The iPad is lighter than a laptop computer and while running the Photosmith app, I can transfer the images directly to Lightroom when I get back, if I decide to go through route.  I also run the Snapseed app from Nik on my iPad so I can show the customer some basic fixes so they understand what can be done on some of the pictures. But that’s a different review.

Other than that I can fit my Expo disc and/or my X-rite ColorChecker Passport, depending on if I’m shooting landscape or portraits.  I also generally bring business cards, some pens, memory cards and the camera connection kit.  Don’t forget batteries for the flash and camera.

Now I know that sounds like a lot, but I don’t always have it loaded so full.  Generally I have my camera, either a couple of primes or my 17-50mm Tamron and a SB-900, along with the iPad and other bits.

For me this bag is built extremely well, as are all of Lowepro’s bags I’ve used over the years. I’ve had other shoulder bags and this one is much better as it’s deep enough for the 70-200 attached.  The AW cover has saved me a couple of times as well.  I feel a little more comfortable when it’s poring rain out if I have the cover.  Although most quality bags now have their own rain covers, I still feel secure with the Lowepro bags.

Enough babbling now, here are the specs from the Lowepro site:

  • Capacity – Professional DSLR with 70-200 f2.8 lens attached plus 1-2 additional lenses or flash
  • Size(Interior) – 8.9W x 6.3D x 11.2H in./ 22.5 x 16 x 28.5 cm
  • Size(Exterior) – 13.4W x 8.9D x 14H in./ 34 x 22.5 x 35.5cm
  • Front Compartment Inner Dimensions – 7.5W x 1.4D x 9.6H in./ 19 x 3.5 x 24.5 cm
  • Weight – 2.5 lbs/1.1kg
About covesphotography

I have loved photography since I was a child. I always had a camera with me, although it was usually an old Kodak 110 Instamatic. When I was older, I used to take (with permission) my fathers Konica SLR with a 50mm Sigma lens. I was always disappointed that I had to wait for the film to be developed to see what it looked like. I have about two large containers full of pictures in my bedroom closet even now, mostly mine from that time. I don't know exactly how old I was, but I was able to take a picture of a sunset over Lake Superior with a heavy cloud cover above and the water below, the sun just broke through. My parents took it and blew it up to a very large image and I had it hanging on my wall for years. As a lot of teenagers are now, I was impatient and didn't stay with my love of photography, however when digital became more popular, and because I double exposed an important roll of film, I purchased my first digital camera, about 2004. I loved it so much that it went everywhere with me. Now I want to turn that passion for photography to something that can bring joyful moments to other people. From elegant weddings, to family portraits, from infants and pregnancy photos to corporate head shots, from pets to product photography. I travel to you, either to your home or a location you specify. If needed I can help in location scouting as well.
This entry was posted in Bags, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lowepro Classified 160 AW

  1. I think deep and hard before showing to any client what I can do to fix a photo. They’ve started to expect miracles from me… which I do, but it’s a lot of work and they think it’s easy and fast and worst, they think they don’t need to pay more when they ask for some abominable “fixings”.

  2. oh, and I just bought a Wf King Kong 20 bag, it’s quite good too.

  3. This is very nice post i stumble this

  4. thanks i will check out more post you written.

Leave a Reply

